Header Image
 Child abuse and neglect


In Western Australia, under the Children and Community Services Act 2004, a child is a person under the age of 18 years.

There are generally five types of child abuse and neglect, which may co-exist:

Publication: How do I recognise when a child is at risk of abuse or neglect?

Child development and trauma guide

The Child development and trauma guide has been developed to assist practitioners to understand typical developmental pathways of children and recognise indicators of trauma at different ages and stages.

Importantly, the resource offers practical, age appropriate advice as to the needs of children, parents and carers when trauma has occurred, and ways in which children and families can be assisted in healing and recovery.

The Child development and trauma guide covers the following age groups:

  • 0 to 12 months
  • 12 months to 3 years
  • 3 to 5 years
  • 7 to 9 years
  • 9 to 12 years
  • 12 to 18 years.

What to do... when you are concerned that a child is being abused or neglected
A3 poster

How do I recognise when a child is at risk of abuse or neglect?
Outlines the five main types of child abuse and neglect.

What does it mean?
A guide for families and carers about how the Department of Communities helps keep children safe.

Protecting children
Information for parents, families and friends. 

Keeping our kids safe
For aboriginal families and communities.

  Become a Foster Carer
You won't always see where they go. But you can help them get there. Become a foster carer. 1800 024 453
| | Accessibility | Self Service | Staff Email | Contact Us | Other Languages Other Languages